Love Is Tricky – Poem


Love isn’t just an emotion

Or even a magic potion

God designed it with a purpose

He provides a surplus

When you are all alone

You can feel Him in your bones

Your eyes can not see

But in the Trinity there is three

Why do we not trust

Broken down with rust

Bent out of shape

Pieced together with tape

Lord we hurt so much

We long for Your touch

Shine your light upon us

Help me not to cuss

So many thoughts trapped inside

How come I can’t find a bride

I want to feel complete

I want someone sweet

To have and to hold

Before I get too old

Show me your plan

Teach me to be a fisherman

Not just for someone for me

But also to help others see

That Your plan is better

For You I write this letter

Help me to love

Help me to find truelove

I am willing to trust my life to You

Make my dark skies turn blue

With Christ I can overcome

Help me to become

The person you made me to be

Together let’s agree

That alone I will fail

But with You I can sail

No longer left all alone

Because you have shown

Me how to love and expect nothing

Your love is very touching

With You I am made whole

I have finally found my self-control

Bring me someone special

I promise to be careful

Love them like You have loved me

Together we will cross the sea

Whatever it takes

No matter how high the stakes

We will give you the glory

And that is my story…

Leave a Reply

